Losing Dad (1)


Dad3

Experiencing death is as sobering as a tight slap. I felt the immense weight on my shoulders as I stood alone in front of the coffin. Finally I understood what it meant to be someone’s child. I realised my duties and responsibilities. Death can also sometimes reveal undesirable secrets, which may cause additional pain and disappointment. But I hope to fill my heart with happy memories we have shared: as a little girl running around in the playground, being read to at bedtime, enjoying days out at various attractions in Singapore, and then later as I grew older, catching up over coffee and meals. It hasn’t been the easiest relationship to maintain – it came with a lot of baggage. But I know I have done the best I could. And on this note, goodbye Dad, till our paths cross again. (to be continued…)

Explore posts in the same categories: Drama, Family, Life

Leave a Reply

