I should be so lucky


I am blessed.

Yes, there are times when I do get down and frustrated and moan about my life but actually I do have a lot to be thankful for.

I wanted a baby and I was lucky enough to get pregnant on our first try. There is no doubt he is a real handful but we are so blessed to have a healthy child. We often seem to take for granted that all babies will be born healthy, but I have recently heard a number of stories both in Singapore and here in Wales, about parents who have had babies with serious or lifelong health conditions, and that really made me appreciate how lucky I am.

I don’t have the most exciting or glamorous job in the world but I generally enjoy what I do and I have an amazing boss and colleagues who are all pro-family.

I am very, very, very, tired at the end of every day but at least I get the privilege of being with and looking after my own child. It means so much to us to be able to see him take his first step and achieve different milestones.

I am not rich and like most people, have to watch what I spend. But we lead a relatively comfortable life, we eat well and have a warm house to come home to.

I have a fantastic mother who comes to stay with us four times a year to give us a hand with Lucien. I really cannot ask for a better mother because she totally understands that the way we lead our lives is different to how she would lead hers in Singapore and she respects that. She has never tried to change how we run the household, bring up Lucien or interfere with our routines. She understands that he is our child, not hers, and chooses to help and support us rather than direct and control us.

The rest of my family too is brilliant. They have wholeheartedly accepted R and welcomed him into the family. They shower Lucien with so much love, attention and gifts.

When I sit down and type such an entry to reflect on my life, I realise I really haven’t got much to complain about.

I am a truly lucky girl.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Leave a comment