Chinese Cabbage, Carrot and Chicken Congee


Chinese Cabbage, Carrot and Chicken Congee

How’s that for alliteration? This is Lucien and I’s favourite congee. We usually share it when I cook it. Lucien will gobble up the chicken with the congee and leave me with the rest. It’s the sort of food I would eat on a cold winter day, when I’m feeling rundown, when I want a taste of home or when I want light, nutritious and tasty. It’s so delicious yet so dead easy to make and I’m going to share my recipe.

Ingredients for the 4C Congee

A small handful of white and brown rice

4 leaves from a Chinese cabbage, finely chopped

1 small carrot, finely diced

1 chicken stock cube

1 small piece of chicken breast or thigh (deboned)

Method

Wash the rice and put in twice the amount of water than you do if you wanted to cook rice

Put the stock cube, cabbage, carrots and chicken into the pot

If using the slow cooker, put it on HIGH heat and cook for 2 hours

If using the rice cooker, just press START but remember to monitor it every 20 minutes or so to make sure it doesn’t dry out. Add more water if it does

Serve with coriander or spring onions with a dash of soy sauce if desired

Enjoy!

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Food, Life

Leave a Reply

