Comfort food


I had the most satisfying dinner for the first time in two weeks. Nothing special. It was just vegetables, egg and rice which I whipped up quickly.

It took me about two weeks to properly recover from jet-lag. Well, enough to feel I had the focus and energy to get on with stuff and not just merely mope around like a zombie. This took a while because not only did I have to get myself back into the British timezone, I also had to help Lucien get over his jet-lag and into a routine. (It’s a nightmare trying to keep a desperately exhausted baby awake so he can adjust to the timezone).

And because we had so much to deal with, I was left with no energy to cook. Because believe it or not, cooking actually requires a lot of concentration and alertness, and the last thing you want to do when you feel drop-dead tired, is to chop up ingredients, stand over a hot stove and do piles of washing up after. So for the first week or so when we got back to Wales, we existed mainly on freezer food, cartons of soup, toast, instant noodles and cereal.

I gradually found some strength left at the end of each day to make pasta and my own soup, but I think yesterday was the first time since we got back that I thoroughly enjoyed a meal. It could be all that starch from the perfectly cooked rice, or the stir-fried vegetables which I made with a packet of expired spicy ginger and fermented bean sauce I found in the cupboard and the strips of courgettes scrambled with three large free-range eggs.

As I was drifting to sleep, I took a deep breath in and I could still smell my cooking in the air. Garlic, onion, ginger, fermented bean, wok hei. For once I didn’t mind my home smelling like a Chinese restaurant. It smelled of home.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Food

2 Comments on “Comfort food”

  1. estique Says:

    yah..i know what it means to enjoy a nice home cooked meal after eating out everyday. on rare occasions, i’d buy some prawns and chop some garlic and make some pasta, and i’d feel extremely HAPPY! haha

    • tintedglasses Says:

      We hardly ever eat out, but on days when we are busy we just eat rubbishy freezer food, so it’s nice to have time and energy to cook something fresh and wholesome.


Leave a Reply

