New love


I know many women, including my own mother, have a selection of perfumes so they can choose how they smell according to the occasion, e.g. a muskier fragrance for night and a lighter scent for day. Or maybe look for another scent once the last drop of their current favourite has been used up, just for a change.

But I’m the sort of girl who hates changing my scent. I’ve used Estee Lauder’s Pleasures since I was 18 and I have never been interested in looking for anything else. he The clear bulbous glass bottle with the silver round cap is the only fragrance I have on my dressing table. To me, I think that when I’ve found something I really like, what’s the point of looking around for anything else?

For Christmas, I was very surprised that R had bought me perfume because it’s just not the sort of thing he’d go out and get for me. When I ripped open the wrapping, I was slightly disappointed to find that it’s not Pleasures but Flower by Kenzo.

In my mind I was thinking, “Oh no, why did he get me a different scent? That’s not ME!” It’s as if using a different perfume showed that I was being disloyal. I was betraying my usual scent. And I was almost worried my perfume bottle would turn around and say to me, “How can I not be the ONLY fragrance in your life?!” For days and weeks I just left the unopened box of Flower in my drawer, despite R’s constant nagging for me to unwrap it and have a sniff.

Finally one day, after being nagged for the umpteenth time, I opened the box and sprayed the perfume on my wrist. I was hesitant and doubtful because R and I have VERY different tastes. What if it was really awful but I still have to pretend I love it? I let the scent mellow and mature over some time and when I smelled it eventually, I was actually very pleasantly surprised. Throughout the course of the day as I caught more whiffs of the scent, I found myself growing to like it a lot.

I discovered I was wrong! Because even when you think you’ve found the love of your life, it doesn’t mean you can’t fall in love again. And sometimes loves just comes knocking when you’re not even looking for it.

I’ve had a lucky escape. It’s only another perfume I’ve fallen head over heels with.

Explore posts in the same categories: Relationship

Leave a Reply

