See no touch


Okay now I’m going to sound like one of those over-protective and obsessively hygienic mothers, but I really hate it when strangers touch my baby. (*Note: if you are my friend or someone I know, obviously ‘strangers’ do not refer to you)

What I mean is people whom I have never met until they try to carry my baby. Thankfully, this doesn’t happen too often because we stay home a lot.

The first time it happened, we were at the hospital visiting my grandmother at the High Dependency Unit where only two visitors were allowed at each bed. And the nurses were slightly unhappy about a 4-month old baby being there, so we left him with my helper in the lounge area. When we returned for him, she told us that passers-by said he was so cute and she let a few of them carry him. My mother was furious and told her off. The hospital was full of germs she said, how could she let some random stranger carry the child? That night when Lucien got home, he cried non-stop for 2 hours. Nothing we did could stop his howling. He went to bed on an empty stomach, too tired to eat. This is one of the reasons why I would never be at ease about leaving my baby with a helper.

The second time it happened, we were also at the hospital. My grandmother was in a normal ward which was a lot less busy and crowded when we visited. One of the cleaners rushed up to us immediately when she saw the baby and wanted to lift him from the pushchair he was in. I instinctively turned the pushchair away from her and smiled when she kept repeating, “Very cute! Very cute!” She did not touch Lucien at all in the end.

Yes I know people behave like this only because they are taken by the kid and want to show their affection. I appreciate that but I also think it’s only polite to ask the parents’ permission before you touch or carry their babies.

I’m really not being atas. Afterall, do YOU go hugging random strangers on the street because they look cute? And why is that I wonder? Because you don’t know where they’ve been and what they have.

My point exactly.

Explore posts in the same categories: Drama, Family

2 Comments on “See no touch”

  1. Annabel Says:

    People with no personal boundaries are so horrifying.

  2. fefe Says:

    Haha! I’m not a mother but I do get highly annoyed and superbly protective of my niece and nephew when strangers come forward hoping to get hold of my babies. Get lost! I meant to say FO! hehe…


Leave a Reply

