Terrible gut feeling


I had such a frightening night.

At 00:45, I woke suddenly with a sharp pain in my stomach, right underneath my breast bone. It came about strongly and suddenly and I immediately sat up from the bed, thinking it would go away. It didn’t and the pain was acute and persistent.

I clutched my stomach and tried to breathe. My brows were locked and I was in misery. I sat there for a few minutes wondering what was wrong. I didn’t feel like burping, my stomach wasn’t rumbling, I didn’t have the urge to go to the toilet. I am used to getting gastric discomfort which is usually a dull ache easily soothed by a tummy rub. I have never had anything so severe that “desperate” was the only feeling I had.

Out of fear and desperation, I woke R even though he had to be up at 5am to go to work. “I’m in terrible pain.” He got me some Gaviscon, which is a liquid medicine for heartburn and indigestion.

I started to break out in sweat and could only take short shallow breaths because of the pain. My cheeks were flushed and I could barely speak. “Shall I rub your tummy?” R asked. I said no, I felt like vomitting and my stomach was so tender to touch. I couldn’t lie down and I couldn’t stand up, so I just sat on the edge of the bed, clutching my stomach, crying out in pain.

R asked if I wanted to go to the hospital but I said no, hoping it would pass. R suspected it could be trapped wind so he went downstairs to make me a cup of strong peppermint tea with two teabags and honey. I drank it down and the pain got worse. Then the belching started and I slowly felt better.

I soon felt well enough to lay my head on pillows propped against the headboard and my pulse stopping racing. And then as suddenly as it came, the pain subsided and I got back into bed. At that point I just thought I was so lucky that R wasn’t on night shifts and I was on my own. The terrifying pain had completely consumed me and I wouldn’t have known what to do.

“Sorry for waking you,” I apologised to R. “It’s OK, I couldn’t sleep anyway.” he said. I turned the lights out and moments later I heard him snoring.

Explore posts in the same categories: Drama, Family, Health

One Comment on “Terrible gut feeling”

  1. estique Says:

    the importance of a husband. 🙂

    glad it wasn’t anything serious.


Leave a Reply

