Castaway


P1000861

I made a long arduous journey to West Wales yesterday to check out an Activity Centre we want to use for our youth camp in December. Once again it took me the best part of the day to get to and from the place on the train and bus. Some parts of my journey were scenic, especially when I was travelling along the coast. But the weather was so cold and the skies so grey and I really wished I was in the office rather than out and about.

I didn’t have time to eat lunch till 4pm when I bought a sandwich on the train back and ate it while I shivered. The air-conditioning instead of the heating was on but I was too tired to tell the conductor. I fell asleep with my scarf and coat on, with my gloved hands tucked into my pockets. It was raining, dark and windy outside and not particularly warm inside.

But during that 20 minutes I napped, I felt warm, safe and contented.

Explore posts in the same categories: Travel, Work

Leave a Reply

