Me, myself and I


I thought I’d interview myself so you’d have a better idea what I actually do (or not do) for a living.

So what keeps you busy during office hours?

I work as a Development Officer in a youth development agency. It is a charity which aims to use innovative ways and the dynamics of the cultural industries to engage meaningfully with young people.

What are you working on right now?

We’ve recently won a big contract to re-develop a national website to provide information and advice for children and young people in Wales. It is funded by the Welsh government. I work with the designers to launch the website in the summer and also with relevant organisations (e.g. local councils, schools, youth services) to promote the website.

Are you on the government’s payroll then?

I am not employed by the Welsh government, I just work with them in close proximity.

What is this website all about?

Think of it as a e-zine where a young person can read articles and see photos submitted by other young people. There will be an adult editor to moderate and edit these submissions, but all the web content will be produced by young people. The e-zine is broken down into sections such as health, education, employment, environment etc. Along with each article, there will be other useful factual information and proper signposting to places where they can seek help and advice on each topic.

Why would young people be interested in this?

Because they can find out the lives of other young people, write or photograph issues which concern them and make their voices heard! The beauty of this website is: through the stories of their peers, young people will be able to gather the information they’d need on a topic. They can also share their own experiences.

How did you find this job?

I applied for a similar position in April 2008 and had a two-hour interview through Skype. Sadly I did not get the job as they did not want to risk the chance of me not being able to get my work permit. I contacted the organisation again in October 2008 and they were able to offer me part-time work as they had just been awarded the tender for developing this website. In February, I joined them full-time.

What’s a typical day like for you?

I make sure the organisations who work with young people are aware of us and we can support their activities, be it sponsoring flyers or stickers or offering information and materials. I meet with the government representatives from all the different local councils to discuss setting up their local websites, which would be linked to the main national site. I keep in touch with the Welsh government who are funding us to make sure they are happy with the way things are going. I help to gather young people from all over Wales to particpate in a National Editorial Group to learn how to contribute content for the site.

Are you pretty much office-based?

I spend about three days in a week in the office or occasionally attending seminars and conferences. The other two days I try to work from home to cut down on travel costs. It also means I can wake later and work in my pjs!

Anything you are looking forward to?

Yes! I am organising a 3D2N camp for young people where they’d be re-writing the current web content to make it more easier to understand for their peers. It will be somewhere in Mid or North Wales and I am looking forward to meeting the kids. I also think the concept of the whole project is fantastic and I can’t wait for it to take off!

And what do you not so enjoy?

I am pretty structured and organised and the laissez-faire working style is something I have trouble getting used to. A little less chaos would be nice.

Anything you want to add?

I sometimes think it’s a real miracle I was able to find something in the midst of the economic recession, in a place where jobs are terribly limited and where in my experience, job applicants are being discriminated against because of cultural and ethnic reasons.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

6 Comments on “Me, myself and I”

  1. fefe Says:

    If you could take away one job scope and swap it with something new, what would it be? Why?

  2. tintedglasses Says:

    Probably less time shuffling papers and more interacting with young people, which sadly I’m not doing much. I still very much enjoy teaching and I think when the time is right, I will be returning to the classroom!


  3. C, I wish you all the best in your job and life. We met so many donkey years ago and I have seen you mature so much. I am really happy with your progress. I admire your gutsy-ness to move out of home to pursue a life you desire. Way to go, girl! So glad to know you. You will always be close to my heart. You have the ability to make one’s life better. 🙂 xoxo


  4. I forgot to say: I am so proud of you. 🙂

  5. tintedglasses Says:

    Thanks Christine for your very nice comments. Yes it’s hard to believe it’s been more than 10 years since we worked together in that advertising agency, and to think we are still staying in touch! It has not been easy to uproot and move here but I guess I did not want to live in regret had I not tried it out. I look forward to motherhood and you have so much for me to learn from – juggling parenting with a career you have built from scratch. I do read your blog entries though I rarely leave comments, and it makes me happy to see how much you’ve accomplished with your paintings!


  6. Let’s keep this friendship alive no matter where we are. We missed you when you came back, so I hope we can catch up next time. Hannah and Heather always remember jiejie … your cookies stole their hearts! Like you, I don’t want to live in regret that I have not done my best to pursue my dream to become a children book illustrator. It has been really challenging and not to mention sacrifices especially time with the kids and my folks. I only hope that all these are worthwhile at the end of the day.

    May you have a fruitful life and all the best towards becoming a mother. Keep in touch! Keep blogging. You are a good writer.


Leave a Reply

