Cinderella and her Pumpkin


When it was Halloween and pumpkins were in abundance, I wanted to get one to make pumpkin soup. But R told me to wait till Halloween was over when all the shops would knock down the prices of pumpkins.

I don’t know what possessed me to believe him but I did and when I went to the supermarket on 1 November, there was not one single pumpkin in sight as everything was sold out! I could have killed him if I had not found a stall in an indoor market which had a steady supply of pumpkins.

Pumpkin ingredients

After researching around for different recipes for pumpkin soup, I decided to combine a few and call it my own Spicy Pumpkin Soup. I like chunky soups so I added diced potatoes and onions for that extra bite and texture.

I was glad I included the garlic and coriander when I blended the pumpkin, as that really gave the soup a delightful aroma. The curry powder and chilli also complemented the sweet pumpkin flesh, giving it a unique tang.

This is not a difficult recipe though the preparation does take a while. Be warned that pumpkins are very hard and hacking it can be a nightmare if you do not have a large knife.

Having said that, I must add that it’s definitely worth trying out, because you’d be very impressed by the outcome! R slurped up two helpings and said it was “restaurant quality”. And I was amazed I could actually do decent soups! Perfect for those cold and rainy wintry evenings.

Spicy Pumpkin Soup (serves two)

INGREDIENTS

1 kg pumpkin

3 cloves garlic

1 medium red chilli

1 red onion

2 medium potatoes, peeled

120 ml single cream

lots of coriander leaves

1 tablespoon sea salt and 1 teaspoon cracked pepper

1 teaspoon mild curry powder

1 bay leaf

RECIPE

1) Remove seeds and skin of pumpkin, cut into chunks. Boil in water with a bay leaf till soft.

2) Finely dice 1 onion, 1 clove of garlic and 1 potato. Set aside.

3) Put the chilli, 2 cloves of garlic, curry powder, salt and pepper, coriander in the blender. When the pumpkin chunks are soft, drain them and put them in the blender. Whizz till smooth. If needed, add a few spoonfuls of water.

4) Heat a frying pan and stir-fry the diced potatoes, onions and garlic with olive oil and a dash of soy sauce. When the onions and potatoes are soft, transfer into a pot.

5) Add the smoothly blended pumpkin into the pot, stir in the cream and bring the mixture to a boil.

6) Add more salt or water if need be. Serve with fresh coriander, a dash of cream and crusty bread.

img_3305

Explore posts in the same categories: Food, Life

5 Comments on “Cinderella and her Pumpkin”

  1. estique Says:

    wah..looks nice..but the process seem tedious..somemore gotta wash up the blender after that! can just do chinese style and throw everything into a pot of water and boil? hee

  2. tintedglasses Says:

    Not tedious, just takes a bit of time. Blender is easy to wash since there is no oil – just rinse with running tap water. Since everything in the blender is liquid, it comes off very quickly. Yes I like Chinese soups too but I think they are more tedious to make since you need to make the stock.

  3. R Says:

    The soup was a thick, substantial and very satisfying blend of flavours and textures. It may be that it was more suited to Western tastes than Asian. To achieve the required consistency, the ingredients needed to be blended, though the results were so rewarding that the time needed to clean the utensils was well spent.(Though I admit, I neither cooked nor cleaned, just enjoyed the fruits of C’s labours). The soup would not have been out of place on restaurant menus with pretensions to haute cuisine.

  4. s Says:

    ok mc c, you haaave to cook for us when we see you in jan! have you been at our online hideout? R, at this rate, you’re going to be quite rotund next time we see you!

  5. tintedglasses Says:

    Yes CMM, I am glad you received our clutch! Must use hor! And when is this celebratory party (!!) you mentioned going to be held? Yes R is on a diet at the moment.


Leave a Reply

