Happy, thankful and relieved


I know I should be reading up the materials for my new job tomorrow but I am too ecstatic. Nothing earth-shattering, simpy that I’ve just successfully set up my home broadband after three months of being here (applying for a new phone line and signing up with a broadband took three weeks each, plus we had some hiccups). I’m glad there’s no need for me to trudge to the library everyday and feel bad about using the computers there!

Anyway, I know I’ve moaned about how difficult it was to get a job and how despondent I did become. Just before I was offered work with the youth organisation, I was seriously contemplating returning home since I didn’t seem to get getting anywhere here though I had loads of interviews.

But thinking about it on hindsight, it does seem that He has got everything worked out for me. I spent my first three months settling in, working on the house and applying for jobs. As the DIY jobs got closer to completion and my unemployed status, financial position and internet problems got to me, BANG, somebody just suddenly decided to set everything straight.

I finally got offered a job working on youth websites at the organisation I was so keen about, albeit five months late. During our meeting, they revealed that they actually wanted to hire me after our two-hour Skype interview in May but was worried about me not being able to get the WHM visa, and so they chose another dude. Which made me really annoyed with myself for having been so honest all the time! I should have said I already had the visa, instead of in the process of getting one.

The broadband was activated just a day before I was due to start work, which would be very convenient if I’d decide to work from home. I’d gotten most of the laborious DIY work (i.e. hardcore painting and furniture assembly) out of the way when I was bumming. And to supplement my income, I managed to find someone who is interested in learning conversational Mandarin once a week.  

All in all, things are picking up and I know it won’t be long till I would start to moan about having to go to work and not having enough time to slack. It’s often tough to see the light at the end of the tunnel when everything around seems so grim, but it’s important to know or choose to believe, that my prayers are heard, someone divine is looking after me and the universe is conspiring in my favour.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

7 Comments on “Happy, thankful and relieved”

  1. melissa Says:

    has it been five months???? darn

  2. Iconoclastic Says:

    Congratulations! I am sorry you have been bummed out of late but the only way from down is up and you are definitely on the rise. I hope you have a blast at your new job. All the best!

  3. tintedglasses Says:

    Hey Iconoclastic, how did you come across my site? Do we know each other? 🙂

  4. cmm Says:

    yay congratulations!

  5. tsl Says:

    hey, this inspires. 🙂

  6. Iconoclastic Says:

    No, I believe we have never met even though I have been reading you for awhile now. (If I am not wrong, the last comment I left was about dumplings in Shanghai.) I probably surfed up from another blog but which exactly eludes me now.

  7. tintedglasses Says:

    Hey iconoclastic, yeah, thought you sounded familiar! I love your site and your fashion sense! Have you checked out Soon Lee on Haji Lane? It seems like the kind of shop you might like. Anyway, great to know that I have regular readers apart from my friends! You made my day! 🙂


Leave a Reply

