Hedgie


Look at what R found on the driveway when he came back on his scooter last evening! He kept this prickly baby in a box, fed it grape and cereal and only showed it me this morning after he declared, “I have a little surprise!”.

We found the baby hedgehog, which looks like a floor brush and is only slightly smaller than a $10-note, fast asleep in the box. At the moment, it’s still dozing in the garage and I haven’t seen its face yet, but hopefully when the nocturnal creature wakes later, I’d be able to take a good look at it.

We went out to buy some cat food for it, and plan to release it to the wild when it eventually comes around.

Oh I’ll miss cute Hedgie! Too bad we can’t keep him.

Explore posts in the same categories: Environment

13 Comments on “Hedgie”

  1. cmm Says:

    aiyoh, hedgie is too cute la..

  2. MsBonkers Says:

    Ms C … whatever it is … try and make it there … DON’T come back … U are living LIFE!

  3. Roger Says:

    ‘The wild’??? Ah, you mean the back garden! I admit that the raspberry canes are rather untidy, but it is not as though you’d need GPS to navigate your way from the path to the clothes line….

  4. tintedglasses Says:

    MsBonkers, so kua zhang meh? I’m enjoying a bit of country life but I’m still a city girl I think. Hedgie gone exploring in the garden now but I do hope to see him soon. He’s so cute!

  5. melissa Says:

    OMG he is the cutest!!!! Tell me where in Singapore can we keep such unusual pets? The only things that crawl into our backyards are lizards and pythons.

  6. Roger Says:

    Melissa, I SO know where you are coming from! When I was at C’s flat last year, it was soooo tedious, having to push those 25-foot pythons out of the lift every time I wanted to go up and down. Oh, and DON’T get me started on the Boas and Anacondas!!!
    Bah, the government should really get organised, and rid the island of all those enormous reptiles.

  7. tintedglasses Says:

    Melissa baby, since when did we have pythons crawling in our gardens?! Unfortunately can’t keep Hedgie as pet. He’s wild. Can leave food out for him though.

  8. melissa Says:

    Have!!! We have pythons! When I was a kid, I lived in a terrace house with my grand dad and he always had to capture the snakes and monitor lizards that came into our backyard. I even had a monkey as a pet!! And I wasn’t living in a kampong oookkkkay Rog???? In case you don’t know what a kampong is, go ask Chen! :p

  9. tintedglasses Says:

    Omigod Mel, how come we didn’t know you had such a wild and exciting childhood?! I lived in a terraced house too when I was young but we didn’t have any snakes or monkeys! I had great fun burning my dogs’ fleas though.

  10. classroomsandpopcorns Says:

    Hallo … welcome to classrooms and popcorns … meanwhile need help with wordpress …

  11. Roger Says:

    I know what a Kampong is. I live in one…..

  12. shir Says:

    eh..would it send spikes flying? 😛

  13. tintedglasses Says:

    Shir babe, a hedgehog just curls into a ball when it feels threatened but porcupines are thought to be able to shoot their quills! That’s not true though, they are just able to control when to jab their victims.


Leave a Reply

