Not so desperate housewife


He came back from the hospital after his shift last night and I had his dinner waiting for him. I made haddock and mash.

He hung his coat on the door and said to me, “Hey you know there’s this old lady on the ward who’s been there for months. Suddenly out of the blue today she said to me, ‘Ah you’re looking well! You must be courting!’ How odd!”

We laughed and he had his food after washing up. I’m enjoying cooking dinner and baking cookies while he’s at work. I also try to tidy the house a bit but frankly there isn’t much I can do as most rooms are still unfurnished and the kitchen has yet to be put in.

So this week, I’ve been moping around, reading in bed, going to the supermarket, preparing meals and snacks and waiting for him to come home.

I’m also recovering from a mild case of urinary tract infection (first time in my life and it’s no fun at all) and the antibiotics just make me so groggy that I stay in bed all afternoon. So I’m really like the housewife who does not do housework. Or more like – no housework to do.

Well I’m not sure I’d like to stay this way though I do enjoy having the time to do what I want.

I feel pressured to find employment quick because “doing nothing” isn’t exactly what I want to say when I meet people, because I don’t think my family think “doing nothing” is such a good option, because I do prefer to dress up and get out there and earn my own keep, because I don’t know if I’d like to be a housewife, yet.

He’s been very nice about it and wants me to find something I really like, and not do it just for the money. He said, “If you don’t find anything, or don’t want to ever work, then I’ll support you.”

I think that’s very reassuring so I am taking my time to look for something I like and making it a priority to focus on getting the house in a liveable condition.

It’s nearly eight o’clock in the evening and the summer sun is shining on brightly. It won’t get dark now till about ten. But the British weather is unpredictable. All could change as you turn your back.

I don’t find the unknown or such unpredictability exciting, I am just curious to see how it will all turn out.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, Relationship, Travel

3 Comments on “Not so desperate housewife”

  1. Mel Says:

    Hey babe it’s so great to hear how things are! I want to do exactly what you’re doing!!! But I agree, work at some point is necessary. Relish this “me” time though 🙂 won’t last forever!! take beautiful pictures and write us letters! don’t forget to put jam making to the test :p

  2. Nat Says:

    Hey Cindy, I see you’ve finally taken that huge step in moving overseas. I do hope things work out gal! Keep in touch! 🙂

  3. fefe Says:

    Good, the assurance he gave is even better. Not that you will take that chance to laze your bum off but knowing someone is there to support you, mentally we will all feel at ease. Take your time, you have a lifetime to work, why hurry :p


Leave a Reply

