Blimey, I got it!


Finally! I have something to feel positive about!

After an agonising 6-day wait over the outcome of my Working Holidaymaker Visa application, I found out on Tuesday that my attempt was successful.

With shivering hands, I received the parcel from the despatch guy in the afternoon and he told me to check if everything is correct. I’ve heard horror stories of people whose applications were turned down and they had a big ‘REFUSED’ stuck on the passport.

So I flipped through my passport nervously and asked, “How do I know if it’s approved?” He was very nice and helped me to flip to the page which was home to a colourful visa. “There it is! How many years did you get? Oh, two years.” he told me.

Honestly, I feel an immense sense of relief. Over the weekend, I thought about what I’d do if my application was rejected. I realised other than spending another S$600 to reapply and risk it getting turned down again, I didn’t have many other options.

But now that the path is cleared and the dust has settled, I realise I am treading ahead in anxiety and apprehension. The future is uncertain. I am moving on without my family or a comfortable job. I am not terrified but I have my doubts, my worries and my concerns. But hey, whatever the outcome, at least I tried, right?

During such moments, I wonder if everything Paul Coelho says in The Alchemist will come true. He wrote, “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you  to achieve it.” And I am encouraged by what he said. “Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it – boldness has genius, power and magic in it.”

I wonder what the journey brings.

Explore posts in the same categories: Drama, Life, Travel

2 Comments on “Blimey, I got it!”

  1. fefe Says:

    Congrats!!!!!! Mine took a few days too but they did not inform me till 3 weeks later, adoiii..

  2. melissa Says:

    That’s great!!! I’m so glad for you 🙂 Hey let me know what time you want to meet on Sunday. Want to have time to catch up too.


Leave a Reply

