How about a uniform?


I was waiting for it to happen all semester. I had a feeling it might. And it finally did on Thursday afternoon. The girls in my class blurted out, “Teacher! Why do you always wear the same top?”

Those eight words are I believe what any girl dreads to hear – a harsh confirmation of laziness and her lack of creativity.

Well I never thought this day would happen to me. I used to take pride in dressing up for school. I co-ordinated my clothes carefully and put on my make-up to match the colours I wore. I made sure I curled my lashes and applied mascara so my eyes looked less sleepy. On some days I even wore eyeliner.

And then, I don’t know why, I just lost it. I didn’t even bother washing my hair in the mornings. Yes I went to school with a greasy head (ok it’s not that bad, I washed it the night before to save time in the morning). I cut out the eyeshadows and eyeliners. But at least I still bothered with the mascara.

But my clothes. I have a whole big wardrobe but I just can’t bring myself to dig beyond the top few blouses. But thank goodness I am still crazy about shoes and made sure I wore different ones to give the impression that I did not often repeat my outfits.

Unfortunately, my stupid trick fooled no-one.

You know, perhaps just like Fefe suggested, teachers should just wear uniforms to work. A standard shirt tucked into a standard boring black skirt or pair of black trousers. I know teachers do that in Laos. They wear this military looking green shirt and a long olive skirt to school, and all teachers across the country wear the same thing.

Hey maybe that way I would actually be able to wash my hair and apply eye-liner in the morning. Oh but wait, then I won’t be able to get very creative with shoes, can I?

Oh well. Greasy hair has to stay.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fashion, School, Work

3 Comments on “How about a uniform?”

  1. fefe Says:

    ahhh no worries i think i flunk badly in dressing up. The same old clothes and shoes I wear, and nobody notices, maybe don’t bother to notice coz I look the same every day :p and uniform is really a good idea…come one, put up the ideas …

  2. Eric Says:

    Ah..well…actually I did notice it.

  3. tintedglasses Says:

    Oh Eric! Must you spell it out? 🙂


Leave a Reply

