Give. Clean. Teach?


Let’s see, what did I do at work today?

Two students came up to me on separate ocassions during lunch time to say they had no money to eat. Gave them $4 each.

Released a class an hour earlier due to unacceptable behaviour. Told them to come back to my class only when they have learnt to read the time so they can be punctual and are mentally ready to learn. About two-thirds chose to stay behind instead of going to the canteen. 

“We didn’t ask for early dismissal!” they said. “Well you are not exactly ready to study.” I told them why I stopped the lesson – ironically, so that they learn. Then we picked up where we left off and I was glad I managed to get through to some of them.

Later in the afternoon, a boy spat on the floor and left the class. I got down on my knees, in front of the class to wipe up his spit. “Help the teacher!” one boy said. Nobody did of course. It was too gross. I did not ask anyone for help. Instead I wiped it on my own in full view. So that they know how disgusting and uncouth they all were.

I don’t know. Was I teaching?

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, School, Work

One Comment on “Give. Clean. Teach?”

  1. fefe Says:

    Hmmm, I did the exact thing when a boy spat in my class too. The diff, I did not get down on my knees to do it.


Leave a Reply

