Butter fingers


Enough of moaning and self-pitying! Today I decided to get my nails and hair done to lift my spirits. And I also spent over 2 hours in the kitchen baking New Year cookies!

It was a fantastic way to spend the afternoon- kneading the dough and shaping the cookies. I love it that the kitchen smelled so buttery, the counter top was a mess and I was all covered in flour and grease. My family couldn’t stop eating the cookies so I had to bake a second batch.

If I could, I’d love to spend lots more time in my apron, in the kitchen cooking and baking for my loved ones. Just experimenting, having fun and making healthy, wholesome food.

Here’s my recipe if you are interested in these bite-size cookies. They are very easy to make and are so juicy, crunchy and yummy!

Berry Nutty Cookies

Prep: 40 mins

Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients:

450g plain flour

160g icing sugar

230g salted butter

Liberal amounts of raisins, wolfberries, dried cranberries

Liberal amounts of melon seeds, chopped almonds and cashews

3 egg yolks

Method:

1. Sift flour and icing sugar in a large bowl.

2. Add in the butter and rub them together till the mixture is slightly crumbly

3. Stir in berries and nuts

4. Lightly beat the egg yolks, add to the flour and knead to form a soft dough

5. Shape dough into 1.5cm – 2cm balls.

6. Arrange dough balls on ungreased baking tray, flatten lightly and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degreesC for 12-15 mins till edges begin to brown

7. Remove and cool on wire rack

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Food

4 Comments on “Butter fingers”

  1. shir Says:

    i just tried one. wah. very sinful!!!!!

    i love the dried fruits in my cookies! yum yum..

    more? heeheeeeee

  2. fefe Says:

    Yum Yum…..I’m afraid Fred don’t get to eat it :p

  3. a student who's guilty of irritating teachers Says:

    glad that u have cheered up! have a happy cny!

  4. tintedglasses Says:

    Hey “A student who’s guilty of irritating teachers”, have I taught you before?


Leave a Reply

