At the doctor’s


On Thursday I was really tired as I spent the whole day at the doctor’s.

In the morning I went to see my Chinese physician who seemed quite optimistic about my condition and how my body is reacting to his herbs. I was given another month’s supply of dried plants and asked to come back in four weeks for the follow-up.

Over at CGH in the afternoon, I went through a series of blood tests to check my hormone levels and saw the doctor again. Initially he and I were worried that apart from my thyroid, some other hormone-producing glands may be malfunctioning too.

But thankfully, the test results confirmed that the problem is concentrated in the thyroid area. I’d just have to stick to the prescribed dosage for the next 6 months till the next review.

Anyway, I was reading loads of magazines and newspapers during the four-hour wait at CGH, and couldn’t help letting out a long, hearty laugh when I came across this:

FIVE PHRASES WOMEN USE  

1) Fine – This is the word women use to end an argument when they are right and you need to shut up

2) Five Minutes – If she is getting dressed, this means half an hour. Five minutes is only five minutes if you have just been given five minutes to watch the game before helping around the house.

3) Nothing – This is the calm before the storm. This means something and you should be on your toes. Arguments that begin with nothing usually end in “Fine”.

4) Go Ahead – This is not a dare, not permission. Don’t do it!

5) Loud Sigh – This isn’t actually a word, but is a non-verbal statement often misunderstood by men. A loud sigh means she thinks you are an idiot and wonders why she is wasting her time standing here and arguing you about “Nothing” (Refer to #3)
 

It’s spooky how I have done all of the above with R, exactly the way it was detailed in this snippet. I startled a number of other grim-faced patients in the quiet waiting room with me by my uncontrollable chuckle. Seeing that I could even be tickled by what The New Paper had to offer, they must think I was really bored senseless.

Explore posts in the same categories: Health, Relationship

Leave a Reply

