When tech support isn’t tech-savvy


dscf0042.jpg

I bought a new digital camera, the Fujifilm F31FD, which comes highly recommended by existing users and camera salesmen. I wanted a camera which could capture sharp photographs under low light conditions, and I think I’ve got it, as demonstrated above.

Note also how I’m still continuing the “grey rocks” theme with the hand saw and the fabulous mix of colours around the silver tool.

OK back to the story. The camera worked fine, until it came to downloading the photographs onto my computer. My PC didn’t seem to detect the camera, so I telephoned Fujifilm’s technical support hotline out of desperation.

I was told to uninstall then install the USB driver, download a Microsoft Windows Service Pack 2, restart, try again, restart, try again, install driver manually, try another USB port, everything, you name it.

I spent the whole morning getting hot and breathless on the line with the tech dude, for all the wrong reasons. My computer kept prompting this error message: “Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware because a previous instance of the device driver is still in memory. (Code 38)”

And nothing this dude suggested did work. But I really could see that he did try hard enough. Finally, he gave up and said he would forward this problem to the regional computer consultant.

Fed up with the situation, and with bending down to plug/unplug my camera and restarting my computer a million times, I headed out for a break.

When I came back a few hours later, I checked my email hoping a solution would be sitting in my inbox waiting for me. But zilch, no emails. Then, I had a Eureka moment. I decided to Google my problem. I typed in the error message in the Google search field and hit enter.

Within 5 minutes, I was downloading my photos like I was the only bicycle down an empty Orchard Road.

I discovered from the web posts that the camera conflicted with my other imaging devices, namely scanner, and all I had to do whenever I plugged in my camera, was to unplug the scanner USB. It was just that simple and I didn’t need a regional consultant to solve my problem.

If only the tech guy had thought of Google. So buck up tech support. And way to go Google!

p.s. I am going to Hong Kong with my SS kids, will be back on Saturday. I’m sure I will have plenty of nightmares interesting tales to share!

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Leave a Reply

