Eat With Your Family Day


2babyeatingscomeerkatorg.jpg

“Boys! Sit down and eat. Stop playing with your food.”

I love being a civil servant sometimes. You get to benefit from funky, out-of-this-world initiatives. I am often quite amazed by these government programmes. They are so creative in a silly and contrived manner. (E.g. courtesy campaign, clean & green week)

Listen to this one which we recently got to know through official email. It’s called “Eat With Your Family Day” (EWYFD).  Apparently we get to go home at 5pm this coming Friday so that we can dine together with our family that evening.

EWYFD is organized by the Centre for Fathering, and supported by the National Family Council, in conjunction with the National Family Week 2007. “The objective of this event is to encourage families to make it a ritual to dine together, as a way of promoting more open dialogue between young and old and of forging greater understanding between family members.”

Sounds good? Wait, but it happens only once a year. Are you sure that is enough to make us understand each other better? What about the rest of the 364 days? We don’t communicate? We eat with other people? We eat alone? We diet? We work late in the office?

Anyway, people in the staff room were planning activities to do on Friday afternoon, when somebody exclaimed, “Eh cannot plan anything! Friday is EAT YOUR FAMILY DAY!

I couldn’t hold back my chuckle. What a brilliant Freudian slip. And a bloody funny one too. It is so true though. I’m sure if we had spend 365 days sitting down to eat with our family, we would eventually want to bite their heads off.

I seldom hear people complaining to me about their friends, but almost everyone I know has complained to me about their family. Naggy mothers, unreasonable dads,  inconsiderate and selfish siblings. We moan about them, we fight with them, we slam doors and say unkind words. We sometimes wish we can make them disappear.

And yet when they do, we start missing their company. The house feels empty. Despite finding them somewhat irritating, we value their opinions and we wish to be accepted by them. We worry and care about them. We put up a brave front but deep down, their words and actions matter to us and affect us greatly. We spend quiet nights regretting having said the hurtful things to one another. We spend more time with our friends, but we know that in times of difficulty, they are the only ones we can rely on. We are grateful for their love.

I am actually a super big fan of eating with my family at home. My mother’s homecooked dishes are always so enjoyable, and sitting around to moan about a day’s work is quite therapeutic. Having eaten alone most of the my time abroad, I think eating with company makes food taste alot better. No joke.

I’m not certain if I would really heed the government’s advice to rush home at 5pm this Friday to eat with my family, but I can be sure I would not eat them anytime soon, if they leave me unprovoked that is.

“Get off my back, Mum, I’ll do that later…..Grrrr!”

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Life, Relationship

Leave a Reply

