Nostalgia


group.jpg

It’s been 10 years since I first set foot on the lush greenery of Ngee Ann Polytechnic. The green fields, tree-lined roads, giant raintrees. It was this botanical environment which drew me in, which seduced me to make this my home for 3 years.

Last month, the four of us above decided to have a picnic in the Botanic Gardens to celebrate our friendship which began in Ngee Ann. To reminisce hilarious moments, terrible outfits, crazy hairdos, yummy canteen food and annoying classmates. To rejoice the fact that we had found each other admist the weird poseurs.

It didn’t start out with just the four of us. But somehow, somewhere down the road, we got a lot closer as we marched into adulthood. Sharon (top right), after being a fashion journalist for some years, is about to open her own fashion boutique. Mellie (bottom left) is working as a manager with a reputable clothing label.

Jean (top left) is taking a sabbatical from the rat race to rediscover herself. And me. I had always wanted to teach in a tertiary institution, but never in my wildest dreams did I imagine I would end up here. It’s an exciting ride not for the faint-hearted.

It was really Ngee Ann which had given me the opportunity to blossom. To learn to be independent, work in teams, manage my time, develop personal relationships (and be politically correct), fight for my own success and live life the way I wanted.

It was truly a very special and enjoyable journey which I would never trade in for anything else. And my friends: this is a tribute to you, my girlies. Time flies and we’ve changed, but thank you for always being by my side no matter where I go. I am grateful to know each one of you, and even more proud of our prized friendship.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

One Comment on “Nostalgia”

  1. Serene Says:

    Hey Cindy! Wow, cool to hear what you all are doing. Yikes, attack of the long haired ladies! I remember Jean, Sharon and Mellie with shorter hair, you never changed.


Leave a Reply

